Tuesday, 13 August 2013

In this piece of writing, Ronak shares his knowledge about the next Cricket World Cup, as well as a brief history of the event.  If you look back on his entry last term, you will see cricket is a passion of his.

2015 Cricket World Cup
By Ronak Mistry

Yes guys, this the second time NZ and AUS is going to host the world cup.

The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 11th ICC Cricket World Cup, and will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. It is scheduled to take place from 14 February to 29 March 2015.

49 matches will be played in 14 venues, with Australia staging 26 games at grounds in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney while New Zealand is hosting 23 games in seven cities, including Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington. The final of the tournament will take place at
the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
The first World Cup was held in England in 1975 when West Indies beat Australia in the final at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London. West Indies won again in 1979, beating England in the final, again at Lord's. Australia leads with four titles, including three of the past four. India is the defending champion, having beaten Sri Lanka in the 2011 final. England has never won the World Cup despite making the final three times. After losing the 1979 final to West Indies, it lost to Australia in India in 1987 and the 1992 final to Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. South Africa, which co-hosted the tournament with Zimbabwe and Kenya in 2003, has never played in a tournament decider. Christchurch's hopes of seeing 2015 Cricket World Cup matches could be known within the next 24 hours.
Christchurch has been awarded the rights to host three matches in the tournament, including the opening game between New Zealand and Sri Lanka. But if Canterbury Cricket's proposed redevelopment isn't approved, it's possible the games will be shifted elsewhere.

No comments:

Post a Comment